Running a podcast 20 shows on..

23 05 2009

TandridgeRadio.com, the weekly podcast I set up with my friend and local journalist, Kevin Black is 20 shows old today.

Hard to believe that the show has been running now since January this year.

I can honestly say I find it some of the most satisfying and creative work I have ever done. Firstly, I have always wanted to run my own business. The fact that I am in control and running all aspects of the work is incredibly rewarding.

Secondly, I am able to be creative. For some time now I have tried (and failed) to run a podcast. What I have known and what I continue to learn is that content is always the key to making a podcast work. Without it the audience will just not show up.

The most satisfying aspect for me is the sense of creating something. I often argue with people about the nature of web 2.0 and the digital commons more broadly. With such a wealth of information out there that people draw on daily – I often ask people ”what have you done to contribute to it’. People take from the web – but do they give to it?

As I gain experience in post-production my editing is getting much quicker now. I can turn around a 30 mins show in around 2 hours. I am learning more about subtle differences in audio levels and much quicker at pulling together jingles.

The show is gaining in popularity within the Tandridge community too. We have now introduced a monthly new feature with our local MP. The show is fast becoming a voice for the local community.

But there are small challenges. Sponsorship requires more work than the team can commit to right now. We are covering our costs – but we are a ‘ for profit partnership’ and we are running the show, in part, to make a living.

There are reasons we cannot reach out for more sponsors – which we are working on to overcome.

The most satisfying part of the work is responses from listeners. It is fast becoming a talked about feature of community life. We are moving towards even greater market share with a few sponsorship deals in the next few months.

Small steps. But I am at least a step closer to my goal. Within 10 years I want to be running in this space full time. My office will be a coffee shop and my tool my laptop. I’m getting closer and enjoying every minute.

You can catch the show by visiting : Tandridge Radio


Actions

Information

Leave a comment